More Marketing Magic

12 12 2008

The “Magic Jack” is back on the advertising scene on my local television channels. My first post made notice of the incredible phraseology the Magic Jack advertisers used including “free local and long distance for only $19.95 a year.” The new commercials feature this same phrase and more. There are other great lines such as”for $39.95 a year you get the Magic Jack and you get the first year of free long distance and only $19.95 for optional years.” First, I have no idea what free means anymore. Second, what is an optional year? I would understand if this had said “additional years” but “optional years” makes me feel like you get to pick 5 of the next 8 years to get your free long distance at such a cheap cost. Mind boggling.

Personally, my favorite new phrase is as follows: “The first year is absolutely free with no payments for the first 30 days.” The advertisers have begun altering not just the meaning of our words, such as free, but they have begun to mess with the time continum. Is it possible the Magic Jack is so much fun that you will make a year’s worth of phone calls in 30 days? How quickly will I age if I were to purchase the Magic Jack? Since the Magic Jack has found a way to some how cram a year’s worth of phone excitment into 30 days, if I never use my phone will I ever grow older? If I use the *69 call back feature many times can I go back in time? The possibilities here are endless.

To quote Jacobin Mugato of Zoolander fame “Doesn’t anyone else realize this? I feel like I’m taking crazy pills!”

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 09 2009
Jesse

Hi,

My company has a website where I have written a review about the magicJack. Our website ranks very high for magicJack related keywords on Google and I were wondering if you might be interested in linking to our page and I could return the favor to you. We visited your website/post regarding the magicJack and would love to do to this since we have highly related content. If not I would consider advertising as another option.

Please get back to me and let me know if you are interested or not.

My site is a top 25,000 site on the Internet and was regard as one of the top sources for information regarding the digital transition. It has been endorsed my numerous organizations, news websites, and even a U.S. Senator.

Thanks!
Jesse Chettle
Internet Marketing Concepts, LLC
trackstar2683@gmail.com

2 10 2009
goochy

sure I would be interested in any sort of linking, what did you have in mind?

Leave a Reply

