Subway Series Part 3: Showmanship, Going Out on Top

19 03 2010

I apologize for the lengthy delay between parts 2 and 3 of the Subway Series, however, as promised here is the thrilling conclusion to my career as a sandwich artist.

I had now been a practicing sandwich artist for close to two full weeks. On a side note, I find it a little bothersome that the title “sandwich artist” seems to imply that I had some sort of training. In the eyes of Subway you could attend medical school, law school or sandwich school and receive equally prestigious titles from each. What if there was a sandwich school that was treated like a medical school? There would be some who specialize in hamburgers, or as I call them patty-atricians, there would be gyrocologists who specialize in Greek foods, and of course Hamatologists. But I digress.

Now that I had finally gotten the hang of things I had been drawing hours during the lunch rush, the busiest time for a Subway. The manager would continually make comments to me and smile, I had no idea what she was saying because of her Indian accent, but her tone seemed to indicate that she was happy with my performance. I felt as good as you can feel about yourself when you satisfactorily put meat and vegetables on bread for a living.

A day or so later I heard back from an internship I had been pursuing earlier but had not heard back from until now. Not only were they agreeing to pay significantly more, they also offered a chance to sit down and not make sandwiches for people; equally enticing propositions. The only problem with pursuing this opportunity was the position required me to start on Monday, it was Thursday. As I went into work on Friday I had spent almost no time making the decision to leave the sandwich world behind and pursue… anything else.

I went into work on Friday and as I left the store after the lunch rush the manager asked me what time I would be able to work next week. I responded, “I can’t next week, or anytime after that.” She looked confused so I clarified, “I got another job that offers college credit (it didn’t but this seemed like it would help ease the pain of this break up).” That is when, much to my surprise, the manager informed me that she had been training me to be night manager and was expecting me to begin this role within the next week, this would include a pay raise (still a few dollars less an hour than the internship would pay) and added responsibilities. It would, however, still result in me working at Subway; something I was not willing to do to myself.

And so my career as a Sandwich Artist came to an end that day. However, if you are ever in need of a good sandwich, remember that I was being trained, without my knowledge, to be a night manager at Subway despite only having been an employee for two weeks. I was able to climb the sandwich ladder in an incredibly short amount of time. My talents seem to know no bounds.

Read The Subway Series Part 1 and Part 2

Actions

Information

One response

3 04 2010
Subway Series Part 2: Movin’ on up, to the South Side « a collection of incoherent ramblings

[…] Continue the Series with Part 3 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Subway Series Part 3:Subway Series Part 1: If The Glove Don’t Fit, You Must QuitNew Ideas For CAS […]

Leave a Reply

